2017 Rhode Island General Laws
Title 4 - Animals and Animal Husbandry
Chapter 4-1 - Cruelty to Animals
Section 4-1-30 - Cruelty to police animals.

Universal Citation: RI Gen L § 4-1-30 (2017)

§ 4-1-30. Cruelty to police animals.

Any person who willfully tortures, torments, beats, kicks, strikes, mutilates, injures, disables, or otherwise mistreats any dog or horse owned by a police department of this state or any of its political subdivisions or who willfully by any action interferes with the lawful performance of a police dog or horse shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) and not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by imprisonment for not more than one year, or both.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1980, ch. 185, § 1.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Rhode Island may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.