2017 Rhode Island General Laws
Title 31 - Motor and Other vehicles
Chapter 31-14 - Speed Restrictions
Section 31-14-2 - Prima facie limits.

Universal Citation: RI Gen L § 31-14-2 (2017)

§ 31-14-2. Prima facie limits.

(a) Where no special hazard exists that requires lower speed for compliance with § 31-14-1, the speed of any vehicle not in excess of the limits specified in this section or established as authorized in this title shall be lawful, but any speed in excess of the limits specified in this section or established as authorized in this title shall be prima facie evidence that the speed is not reasonable or prudent and that it is unlawful:

(1) Twenty-five miles per hour (25 mph) in any business or residence district;

(2) Fifty miles per hour (50 mph) in other locations during the daytime;

(3) Forty-five miles per hour (45 mph) in such other locations during the nighttime;

(4) Twenty miles per hour (20 mph) in the area within three hundred feet (300') of any school house grounds' entrances and exits during the daytime during the days when schools shall be open.

(5) The provisions of subdivision (4) of this subsection shall not apply except when appropriate warning signs are posted in proximity with the boundaries of the area within three hundred feet (300') of the school house grounds, entrances, and exits.

(b) Daytime means from a half hour before sunrise to a half hour after sunset. Nighttime means at any other hour.

(c) The prima facie speed limits set forth in this section may be altered as authorized in §§ 31-14-4 - 31-14-8.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1950, ch. 2595, art. 25, § 1; G.L. 1956, § 31-14-2; P.L. 1958, ch. 206, § 1.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Rhode Island may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.