2013 Rhode Island General Laws
Title 28 - Labor and Labor Relations
Chapter 28-33 - Workers' Compensation – Benefits
Section 28-33-4 - Commencement of compensation.


RI Gen L § 28-33-4 (2013) What's This?

§ 28-33-4 Commencement of compensation. – No indemnity compensation shall be paid under chapters 29 – 38 of this title for any injury which does not incapacitate the employee for a period of at least three (3) days from earning full wages, but, if the incapacity extends beyond the period of three (3) days, compensation shall begin on the fourth day from the date of injury, the first two hundred fifty dollars ($250) of indemnity compensation following the three (3) day period, and the first two hundred fifty dollars ($250) of medical expense for any compensable injury shall, at the discretion of the carrier, be a deductible charged to any employer insured in the residual market, which deductible the insurance carrier shall promptly charge back to the employer. Non-payment by the employer may be grounds for cancellation of the employer's workers' compensation insurance policy.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1912, ch. 831, art. 2, § 4; P.L. 1917, ch. 1534, § 2; P.L. 1921, ch. 2095, § 3; G.L. 1923, ch. 92, art. 2, § 4; P.L. 1936, ch. 2290, § 3; G.L. 1938, ch. 300, art. 2, § 4; P.L. 1941, ch. 1055, § 1; P.L. 1954, ch. 3297, § 1; G.L. 1956, § 28-33-4; P.L. 1992, ch. 31, § 5; P.L. 1994, ch. 101, § 4; P.L. 1994, ch. 401, § 5.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Rhode Island may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.