2012 Rhode Island General Laws
Title 5 - Businesses and Professions
Chapter 5-5 - Private Detective Act
Chapter 5-5-21 - Engaging in business without a license.
§ 5-5-21 Engaging in business without a license. Whoever without a license engages in the general business of a private detective, or holds him or herself out as a private detective, or pretends to be a detective police officer, shall be punished by a fine of not less than two hundred dollars ($200) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500), or imprisonment in the adult correctional institutions not exceeding six (6) months, or by both fine and imprisonment. Nothing contained in this section applies to a detective of another state coming within this state in the performance of his or her duties, for a temporary period and on a specific matter.
History of Section.
(P.L. 1988, ch. 286, § 1.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Rhode Island may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.