2016 Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes
Title 18 - CRIMES AND OFFENSES
Chapter 61 - Firearms and Other Dangerous Articles
Section 6113 - Licensing of dealers
(a) General rule.--The chief or head of any police force or police department of a city, and, elsewhere, the sheriff of the county, shall grant to reputable applicants licenses, in form prescribed by the Pennsylvania State Police, effective for three years from date of issue, permitting the licensee to sell firearms direct to the consumer, subject to the following conditions in addition to those specified in section 6111 (relating to sale or transfer of firearms), for breach of any of which the license shall be forfeited and the licensee subject to punishment as provided in this subchapter:
(1) The business shall be carried on only upon the premises designated in the license or at a lawful gun show or meet.
(2) The license, or a copy thereof, certified by the issuing authority, shall be displayed on the premises where it can easily be read.
(3) No firearm shall be sold in violation of any provision of this subchapter.
(4) No firearm shall be sold under any circumstances unless the purchaser is personally known to the seller or shall present clear evidence of the purchaser's identity.
(5) A true record in triplicate shall be made of every firearm sold, in a book kept for the purpose, the form of which may be prescribed by the Pennsylvania State Police, and shall be personally signed by the purchaser and by the person effecting the sale, each in the presence of the other, and shall contain the information required by section 6111. The record shall be maintained by the licensee for a period of 20 years.
(6) No firearm as defined in section 6102 (relating to definitions) shall be displayed in any part of any premises where it can readily be seen from the outside. In the event that the Commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police shall find a clear and present danger to public safety within this Commonwealth or any area thereof, firearms shall be stored and safeguarded pursuant to regulations to be established by the Pennsylvania State Police by the licensee during the hours when the licensee is closed for business.
(7) The dealer shall possess all applicable current revenue licenses.
(b) Fee.--The fee for issuing said license shall be $30, which fee shall be paid into the county treasury.
(c) Revocation.--Any license granted under subsection (a) of this section may be revoked for cause by the person issuing the same, upon written notice to the holder thereof.
(d) Definitions.--For the purposes of this section and section 6112 (relating to retail dealer required to be licensed) only unless otherwise specifically provided, the term "firearm" shall include any weapon that is designed to or may readily be converted to expel any projectile by the action of an explosive or the frame or receiver of any such weapon.
(June 13, 1995, 1st Sp.Sess., P.L.1024, No.17, eff. 120 days; Nov. 22, 1995, P.L.621, No.66, eff. imd.; June 18, 1998, P.L.503, No.70, eff. imd.)
1998 Amendment. Act 70 amended subsecs. (a)(5) and (d).
1995 Amendment. Act 66 amended subsec. (a).
Cross References. Section 6113 is referred to in sections 6105, 6112 of this title; section 6108.2 of Title 23 (Domestic Relations).
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Pennsylvania may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.