2017 Oregon Revised Statutes
Volume : 17 - Utilities, Vehicle Code, Watercraft, Aviation, Constitutions
Chapter 811 - Rules of the Road for Drivers
Section 811.111 - Violating a speed limit; penalty.

Universal Citation: OR Rev Stat § 811.111 (2017)

(1) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person:

(a) Drives a vehicle on an interstate highway, except for the portions of interstate highway described in subsection (2) of this section, at a speed greater than 65 miles per hour or, if a different speed is posted under ORS 810.180, at a speed greater than the posted speed.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, drives any of the following vehicles at a speed greater than 55 miles per hour on any highway, except for the portions of highway described in subsections (2) to (12) of this section, or, if a different speed is posted under ORS 810.180, at a speed greater than the posted speed:

(A) A motor truck with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 10,000 pounds or a truck tractor with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 8,000 pounds.

(B) A school bus.

(C) A school activity vehicle.

(D) A worker transport bus.

(E) A bus operated for transporting children to and from church or an activity or function authorized by a church.

(F) Any vehicle used in the transportation of persons for hire by a nonprofit entity.

(c) Drives a vehicle or conveyance on any part of the ocean shore in this state at a speed greater than any of the following:

(A) Any designated speed for ocean shores that is established and posted under ORS 810.180.

(B) If no designated speed is posted under ORS 810.180, 25 miles per hour.

(d) Drives a vehicle upon a highway in any city at a speed greater than a speed posted by authority granted under ORS 810.180 or, if no designated speed is posted, the following:

(A) Fifteen miles per hour when driving on an alley or a narrow residential roadway.

(B) Twenty miles per hour in a business district.

(C) Twenty-five miles per hour in a public park.

(D) Twenty-five miles per hour on a highway in a residence district if the highway is not an arterial highway.

(E) Sixty-five miles per hour on an interstate highway.

(F) Fifty-five miles per hour in locations not otherwise described in this paragraph.

(e) Drives a vehicle in a school zone at a speed greater than 20 miles per hour if the school zone is:

(A) A segment of highway described in ORS 801.462 (1)(a) and:

(i) The school zone has a flashing light used as a traffic control device and operated as provided under ORS 810.243; or

(ii) If the school zone does not have a flashing light used as a traffic control device, the person drives in the school zone between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. on a day when school is in session.

(B) A crosswalk described in ORS 801.462 (1)(b) and:

(i) A flashing light is used as a traffic control device and operated as provided under ORS 810.243; or

(ii) Children are present, as described in ORS 811.124.

(2) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of Interstate 84 beginning at the eastern city limit of The Dalles and ending at the Idaho state line at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty-five miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Seventy miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(3) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of State Highway 95 beginning at the Idaho state line and ending at the Nevada state line at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty-five miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Seventy miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(4) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of State Highway 20 beginning in Bend and ending in Ontario at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Sixty-five miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(5) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of State Highway 197 beginning in The Dalles and ending at its intersection with State Highway 97 and the portion of State Highway 97 beginning at its intersection with State Highway 197 and ending at the California state line at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Sixty-five miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(6) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of State Highway 31 beginning in Valley Falls and ending in La Pine at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Sixty-five miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(7) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of State Highway 78 beginning in Burns Junction and ending in Burns at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Sixty-five miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(8) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of State Highway 395 beginning in Burns and ending in John Day at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Sixty-five miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(9) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of State Highway 395 beginning in Riley and ending at the California state line at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Sixty-five miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(10) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of Oregon Route 205 beginning in Burns and ending in Frenchglen at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Sixty-five miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(11) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of State Highway 26 beginning in John Day and ending in Vale at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Sixty-five miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(12) A person commits the offense of violating a speed limit if the person drives a vehicle on the portion of Interstate 82 beginning at the Washington state line and ending at its intersection with Interstate 84 at a speed greater than:

(a) Sixty-five miles per hour for vehicles described in subsection (1)(b) of this section; or

(b) Seventy miles per hour for all other vehicles.

(13) The speed limits described in subsections (3) to (5) of this section do not apply to portions of highways inside of a city in this state.

(14) The offense described in this section, violating a speed limit, is punishable as provided in ORS 811.109. [2003 c.819 §4; 2003 c.819 §4a; 2005 c.573 §1; 2005 c.770 §6; 2007 c.367 §4; 2015 c. 139 §2; 2015 c.283 §5; 2015 c.746 §1; 2016 c.1 §1]

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oregon may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.