2021 Oklahoma Statutes
Title 29. Game and Fish
§29-3-102. Members of Commission - Appointment and confirmation - Eligibility - Term - Travel expenses.

Universal Citation: 29 OK Stat § 29-3-102 (2021)

A. The Commission shall consist of one member from each of eight districts of the state, such districts to include the areas as follows:

District No. 1: Ottawa, Delaware, Craig, Mayes, Nowata, Rogers, Washington, Tulsa, Pawnee and Osage Counties.

District No. 2: Adair, Sequoyah, Cherokee, Wagoner, Muskogee, Haskell, McIntosh and Okmulgee Counties.

District No. 3: LeFlore, Latimer, Pittsburg, Atoka, Pushmataha, McCurtain, Choctaw, Bryan, Marshall, Carter and Love Counties.

District No. 4: Creek, Lincoln, Okfuskee, Seminole, Pottawatomie, Pontotoc, Hughes, Johnston and Coal Counties.

District No. 5: Logan, Oklahoma, Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Murray and Payne Counties.

District No. 6: Blaine, Kingfisher, Canadian, Caddo, Grady, Comanche, Stephens, Jefferson and Cotton Counties.

District No. 7: Ellis, Dewey, Roger Mills, Custer, Beckham, Washita, Kiowa, Greer, Jackson, Harmon and Tillman Counties.

District No. 8: Cimarron, Texas, Beaver, Harper, Woodward, Woods, Major, Alfalfa, Grant, Garfield, Kay and Noble Counties.

B. Each Commissioner shall be appointed by the Governor of the State of Oklahoma, by and with the consent of the State Senate of the State of Oklahoma, and shall be removed only for cause, as provided by law for the removal of officers not subject to impeachment, pursuant to Sections 1181 through 1197 of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

C. The term of office of each such member shall be eight (8) years, except that the first appointed members shall hold office for terms as follows: the member appointed from District No. 1 shall hold office until July 1 following his appointment, and the members appointed from Districts 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 shall hold office until July 1 of the second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth succeeding calendar years, respectively. In the event the Governor fails to fill a vacancy within thirty (30) days following such vacancy, the remaining members of the Commission may appoint a qualified person to fill such vacancy for the unexpired portion of the term.

D. The members of the Commission shall be allowed travel expenses as provided in the State Travel Reimbursement Act.

Laws 1974, c. 17, § 3-102, emerg. eff. April 8, 1974; Laws 1978, c. 86, § 1; Laws 1985, c. 178, § 14, operative July 1, 1985.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oklahoma may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.