2016 Oklahoma Statutes
Title 37. Intoxicating Liquors
§37-8.2. Permitting individual under 21 to possess or consume alcohol or controlled dangerous substances.

37 OK Stat § 37-8.2 (2016) What's This?

A. No person shall knowingly and willfully permit any individual under twenty-one (21) years of age who is an invitee to the person’s residence, any building, structure, or room owned, occupied, leased or otherwise procured by the person or on any land owned, occupied, leased or otherwise procured by the person, to possess or consume any alcoholic beverage as defined by Section 506 of this title, any low-point beer as defined by Section 163.2 of this title, any controlled dangerous substance as defined in the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act, or any combination thereof, in such place.

B. Except as provided for in subsection C of this section, punishment for violation of this section shall be as follows:

1. Any person who is convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor for the first offense and be punished by a fine of not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00);

2. Any person who, within ten (10) years after previous convictions of a violation:

a.of this section, or

b.of the provisions of any law of another state prohibiting the offense provided for in subsection A of this section, or

c.in a municipal criminal court of record for the violation of a municipal ordinance prohibiting the offense provided for in subsection A of this section,

shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00);

3. Any person who, within ten (10) years after two or more previous convictions of a violation:

a.of this section, or

b.of the provisions of any law of another state prohibiting the offense provided for in subsection A of this section, or

c.in a municipal criminal court of record for the violation of a municipal ordinance prohibiting the offense provided for in subsection A of this section, or

d.or any combination of two or more thereof,

shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by a fine of not more than Two Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($2,500.00), or by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not more than five (5) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

C. Any person who violates this section, and such actions cause great bodily injury or the death of a person, shall, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, be guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not more than five (5) years, a fine of not less than Two Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($2,500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment.

Added by Laws 2006, c. 312, § 1, eff. Nov. 1, 2006. Amended by Laws 2007, c. 365, § 2, eff. Nov. 1, 2007; Laws 2011, c. 328, § 2, eff. Nov. 1, 2011.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oklahoma may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.