2015 Oklahoma Statutes
Title 85. Workers' Compensation
§85-352. Repealed by Laws 2013, c. 208, § 171, eff. Feb. 1, 2014.
NOTE: Subsequent to repeal, this section was amended by Laws 2013, c. 254, § 41 to read as follows:
A. In addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, any employer who fails to secure compensation required by Section 351 of this title shall be liable for a civil penalty, to be assessed by the Commissioner of Labor or designee, of not more than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00) per employee for a first offense, unless the employer secures workers' compensation insurance within thirty (30) days after receiving notice of the violation. If the employer secures workers' compensation insurance within thirty (30) days after receiving notice of the violation, the employer shall be liable for a civil penalty of not more than Seventy-five Dollars ($75.00) per employee. An employer shall be liable for a civil penalty of not more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) per employee for a second or subsequent offense. Provided, the maximum civil penalty shall not exceed Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) for all related series of violations. All civil penalties collected shall be deposited in the Department of Labor Revolving Fund and shall be used to enforce the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Code.
B. After an employer is cited for two offenses of failing to obtain workers' compensation insurance and fails to obtain coverage within thirty (30) days of the second citation, the Commissioner of Labor shall issue cease and desist orders, in accordance with the Department of Labor administrative rules and procedures, against an employer until the violating employer shall obtain workers' compensation insurance for its employees. The Commissioner of Labor shall have the authority to require the cessation of activities of an employer whose employees are not covered by workers' compensation insurance until the violating employer shall obtain workers' compensation insurance for its employees; provided that an employer who has made application for workers' compensation coverage with an insurance carrier, and who, through no fault of the employer, has not received notice that such coverage has commenced, shall not be made to cease operations, as provided for in this section, until a determination has been made concerning the employee's application for workers' compensation coverage. Any order to cease and desist issued by the Commissioner may be enforced in district court. The district court may issue the Commissioner an injunction without bond, for the purposes of enforcing this section.
C. The Commissioner of Labor or designee shall assess and collect any civil penalty incurred under subsection A of this section and, in the Commissioner's discretion, may remit, mitigate or negotiate the penalty. In determining the amount of the penalty to be assessed, or the amount agreed upon in any negotiation, consideration shall be given to the appropriateness of such penalty in light of the life of the business of the employer charged, the gravity of the violation, and the extent to which the employer charged has complied with the provisions of Section 351 of this title or has otherwise attempted to remedy the consequences of the violation.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oklahoma may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.