2014 Oklahoma Statutes
Title 85A. Administrative Workers' Compensation System
§85A-96. Self-insurance Guaranty Fund Board.

85A OK Stat § 85A-96 (2014) What's This?

A. The Self-insurance Guaranty Fund shall be administered, supervised and protected by the Self-insurance Guaranty Fund Board. All self-insurers under the Administrative Workers' Compensation Act shall participate in the fund as a condition of authority to self-insure in this state, except public employers that self-insure pursuant to Section 107 of this title.

B. 1. The Self-insurance Guaranty Fund Board shall consist of five (5) members to be appointed as follows:

a.the Governor shall appoint two members, one of whom shall represent an approved group self-insurance association authorized to self-insure pursuant to Section 38 or Section 102 of this title,

b.the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall appoint one member who shall be an attorney licensed in this state who is engaged in the primary practice of workers' compensation law,

c.the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint one member who represents a private self-insurer, and

d.the Chair of the Oklahoma Workers' Compensation Commission shall appoint one member who shall be a licensed claims adjuster affiliated with either a private self-insurer or an approved group self-insurance association.

2. Members of the Workers' Compensation Self-insurance Guaranty Fund Board serving on January 31, 2014, shall constitute the initial appointees to the Self-insurance Guaranty Fund Board created pursuant to this section, with terms extended an additional two (2) years beyond their original, respective expiration dates.

3. In the event of a vacancy, the appointing authority for the position shall appoint a qualified successor to serve as the appointee for the unexpired term of the member so replaced. The term of office for the appointees shall be as follows:

a.the term of office for three positions, one each appointed by the Governor, President Pro Tempore of the Senate and Speaker of the House of Representatives, shall expire on November 1, 2016, and

b.the term of office for two positions, one each appointed by the Governor and the Chair of the Commission, shall expire on November 1, 2015.

Thereafter, successor members shall be appointed for a three-year term. Members may serve successive terms. Any person appointed to fill a vacancy shall be appointed for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as the original appointment.

4. The chair and vice-chair of the Board shall be elected by the Board from among its members.

5. Members of the Board shall not receive compensation for serving on the Board but shall be reimbursed from monies in the fund for their necessary travel expenses incurred in the performance of their duties in accordance with the State Travel Reimbursement Act.

C. Meetings of the Board shall be held at least quarterly. The presence of a majority of the members constitutes a quorum. No action shall be taken by the Board without the affirmative vote of at least a majority of the members.

D. The Office of the Attorney General shall provide legal counsel to assist the Board in the performance of its duties.

E. No member or personnel of the Self-insurance Guaranty Fund Board, the Workers' Compensation commissioners or any employee of the Workers' Compensation Commission shall be liable in a civil proceeding for any act performed in good faith in the execution of that person's powers or duties pursuant to Sections 96 through 100 of the Administrative Workers' Compensation Act.

Added by Laws 2013, c. 208, § 96, eff. Feb. 1, 2014. Amended by Laws 2014, c. 169, § 2, emerg. eff. April 25, 2014.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oklahoma may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.