2014 Oklahoma Statutes
Title 47. Motor Vehicles
§47-7-606v2. Failure to maintain insurance or security - Penalties.
A. 1. An owner or operator who fails to comply with the Compulsory Insurance Law, or who fails to produce for inspection a valid and current security verification form or equivalent form which has been issued by the Department of Public Safety upon request of any peace officer, representative of the Department of Public Safety or other authorized person, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be subject to a fine of not more than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00), or imprisonment for not more than thirty (30) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment, and in addition thereto, shall be subject to suspension of the driving privilege of the person in accordance with Section 7-605 of this title. Upon issuing a citation under this paragraph, the law enforcement officer issuing the citation may:
a.seize the vehicle being operated by the person and cause the vehicle to be towed and stored as provided by subsection B of Section 955 of this title, if the officer has probable cause to believe that the vehicle is not insured as required by the Compulsory Insurance Law of this state, or
b.seize the license plate of the vehicle and issue the citation to the vehicle operator, provided that the vehicle is in a drivable condition at the time of issuing the citation. A copy of the citation retained by the owner or operator of the vehicle shall serve as the temporary license plate of the vehicle for up to ten (10) working days after the issuance of the citation. After ten (10) working days, the vehicle shall not be used until the vehicle operator or owner completes the requirements to retrieve the license plate.
(1)After the issuance of the citation, the law enforcement agency issuing the citation shall, within three (3) days, deposit the license plate and deliver a copy of the citation to the county sheriff's office of the county where the violation has occurred. The county sheriff’s office shall provide the plan administrator with the seized license plate number. The plan administrator shall maintain a database including all seized license plates and shall submit such information to the Oklahoma Tax Commission.
(2)The vehicle owner or operator may retrieve the license plate from the county sheriff's office upon providing verification of compliance with the Compulsory Insurance Law, payment in full of an administrative fee of One Hundred Twenty-five Dollars ($125.00) to the county sheriff's office and payment in full of the citation to the court clerk. The county sheriff's office shall transfer the administrative fee to the Plan Administrator. The Plan Administrator shall notify the Oklahoma Tax Commission that the vehicle owner or operator is in compliance with this division and shall distribute the administrative fee as follows:
(a)Twenty Dollars ($20.00) of the fee shall be distributed to the county sheriff's office to defray any expenses involved in the storage of the license plate,
(b)Seventy Dollars ($70.00) of the fee shall be transferred to the law enforcement agency which issued the citation and may be used for any lawful purpose,
(c)Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) of the fee shall be transferred to the Temporary Insurance Premium Pool, and
(d)the Plan Administrator shall retain Ten Dollars ($10.00) of the fee.
(3)The county sheriff's office may dispose of any unclaimed license plate after ninety (90) days according to applicable state law. After the license plate has been disposed of by the county sheriff's office, the operator or owner shall be required to obtain a new license plate pursuant to all existing requirements.
If the operator of the vehicle produces what appears to be a valid security verification form and the officer is unable to confirm compliance through the online verification system or noncompliance by a subsequent investigation, the officer shall be prohibited from seizing the license plate or seizing the vehicle and causing such vehicle to be towed and stored. Further, no vehicle shall be seized and towed under the provisions of this paragraph if the vehicle is displaying a temporary license plate that has not expired pursuant to the provisions of Sections 1137.1 and 1137.3 of this title.
2. An owner other than an owner of an antique or a classic automobile as defined by the Oklahoma Tax Commission who files an affidavit that a vehicle shall not be driven upon the public highways or public streets, pursuant to Section 7-607 of this title, who drives or permits the driving of the vehicle upon the public highways or public streets, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be subject to a fine of not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or imprisonment for not more than thirty (30) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment, and in addition thereto, shall be subject to suspension of the driving privilege of the person in accordance with Section 7-605 of this title.
B. A sentence imposed for any violation of the Compulsory Insurance Law may be suspended or deferred in whole or in part by the court.
C. Any person producing proof in court that a current security verification form or equivalent form which has been issued by the Department of Public Safety reflecting liability coverage for the person was in force at the time of the alleged offense shall be entitled to dismissal of the charge. If proof of security verification is presented to the court by no later than the business day preceding the first scheduled court appearance date, the dismissal shall be without payment of court costs. The court may access information from the online verification system to confirm liability coverage. The court shall not dismiss the fine unless proof that liability coverage for the person was in force at the time of the alleged offense is presented to the court.
D. Upon conviction or bond forfeiture, the court clerk shall forward an abstract to the Department of Public Safety within five (5) days reflecting the action taken by the court.
E. For purposes of this section, "court" means any court in this state.
Added by Laws 1976, c. 176, § 6, operative Dec. 11, 1976. Amended by Laws 1981, c. 271, § 1; Laws 1982, c. 355, § 9, operative July 1, 1982; Laws 1984, c. 181, § 2, eff. Nov. 1, 1984; Laws 1988, c. 243, § 3, eff. Nov. 1, 1988; Laws 1989, c. 110, § 1, eff. Nov. 1, 1989; Laws 1990, c. 298, § 4; Laws 1991, c. 74, § 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Laws 2001, c. 131, § 7, eff. July 1, 2001; Laws 2006, c. 322, § 6, eff. July 1, 2006; Laws 2009, c. 62, § 37, eff. Nov. 1, 2009; Laws 2010, c. 440, § 4, eff. Nov. 1, 2010; Laws 2011, c. 193, § 1, eff. Nov. 1, 2011; Laws 2012, c. 207, § 4, emerg. eff. May 8, 2012; Laws 2013, c. 176, § 9, eff. Nov. 1, 2013; Laws 2014, c. 404, § 2, emerg. eff. June 3, 2014.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oklahoma may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.