2014 Oklahoma Statutes
Title 4. Animals
§4-45. Certificate of registration for certain dogs required - Exemption - Fee.
A. It is unlawful for an owner to have a dangerous dog in the state without certificate of registration issued under this section. This section shall not apply to dogs used by law enforcement officials for police work.
B. The animal control authority of the city or county in which an owner has a dangerous dog shall issue a certificate of registration to the owner of such animal if the owner presents to the animal control unit sufficient evidence of:
1. A proper enclosure to confine a dangerous dog and the posting of the premises with a clearly visible warning sign that there is a dangerous dog on the property. In addition, the owner shall conspicuously display a sign with a warning symbol that informs children of the presence of a dangerous dog; and
2. A policy of liability insurance, such as homeowner's insurance, or surety bond, issued by an insurer qualified under Title 36 of the Oklahoma Statutes in the amount of not less than Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00) insuring the owner for any personal injuries inflicted by the dangerous dog.
C. If an owner has the dangerous dog in an incorporated area that is serviced by both a city and county animal control authority, the owner shall obtain a certificate of registration from the city authority.
D. Cities and/or counties may charge an annual fee not to exceed Ten Dollars ($10.00), in addition to regular dog licensing fees, if any are charged, not to exceed Ten Dollars ($10.00), to register dangerous dogs. Fees shall be retained by the city or county issuing license.
Added by Laws 1991, c. 199, § 2, eff. Feb. 1, 1992.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oklahoma may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.