2014 Oklahoma Statutes
Title 29. Game and Fish
§29-6-301a. Prohibited means of taking game or nongame fish - Poison, explosive, or electrical shock devices.

29 OK Stat § 29-6-301a (2014) What's This?

A. No person may use at any time in the waters of this state for taking, catching, capturing or killing any game or nongame fish any of the following instrumentalities:

1. Any rotenone or other poison;

2. Dynamite or other explosive; or

3. Any electrical device used for shocking purpose.

B. Possession of any poison, explosive, device or equipment capable of being used in violation of the provisions of this section, on the bank or in the immediate vicinity of any river, creek, stream, lake or pond shall be prima facie evidence of a violation of the provisions of this section.

C. Any explosive, device or equipment, and any boat, motor or boat and motor in which the same may be found shall be subject to immediate seizure by any game warden, sheriff or deputy sheriff and any such items shall be subject to forfeiture pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation Code to the State of Oklahoma in a proceeding brought for such purpose in the county where such items have been found or seized.

D. No person may manufacture, sell, or offer to sell or buy or offer to buy any electrical device designed to shock fish or used for the purpose of shocking fish except when such device is requested by a state or federal agency for scientific fisheries work.

E. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment. Any person, upon conviction of a second or subsequent violation of this section when said violation occurred within two (2) years of a previous conviction for violating said provisions, shall be punished by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed ninety (90) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment. In addition, all fishing licenses and fishing privileges within the state of such person shall be revoked for a period of one (1) year from the date of such conviction.

F. Persons exempt from the prohibitions of this section shall be:

1. The Director, department employees or authorized agents pursuant to their duties; and

2. Any person possessing a scientific purpose license authorizing such.

Laws 1991, c. 182, § 42, eff. Sept. 1, 1991.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oklahoma may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.