2014 Oklahoma Statutes
Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
§21-1401. Arson in the first degree.

21 OK Stat § 21-1401 (2014) What's This?

A. Any person who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns, or by the use of any explosive device, accelerant, ignition device, heat-producing device or substance, destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels or procures the burning or destruction of any building or structure or contents thereof, inhabited or occupied by one or more persons, whether the property of that person or another, or who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns, or by the use of any explosive device, accelerant, ignition device, heat-producing device or substance causes a person to be burned, or aids, counsels or procures the burning of a person shall, upon conviction, be guilty of arson in the first degree, which is a felony, and shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00), or by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not more than thirty-five (35) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

B. Any person who, while manufacturing, attempting to manufacture or endeavoring to manufacture a controlled dangerous substance in violation of subsection G of Section 2-401 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes, destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels or procures the burning or destruction of any building or contents thereof, inhabited or occupied by one or more persons whether the property of that person or another, or who while manufacturing or attempting to manufacture a controlled dangerous substance in violation of subsection G of Section 2-401 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes causes a person to be burned, or aids, counsels or procures the burning of a person shall, upon conviction, be guilty of arson in the first degree, which is a felony, and shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) and by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not more than thirty-five (35) years.

Added by Laws 1967, c. 115, § 1, emerg. eff. April 25, 1967. Amended by Laws 1979, c. 165, § 1, emerg. eff. May 15, 1979; Laws 1996, c. 145, § 1, eff. Nov. 1, 1996; Laws 1997, c. 133, § 347, eff. July 1, 1999; Laws 1999, 1st Ex. Sess., c. 5, § 240, eff. July 1, 1999; Laws 2001, c. 28, § 1, eff. Nov. 1, 2001; Laws 2013, c. 136, § 1, eff. Nov. 1, 2013.

NOTE: Laws 1998, 1st Ex. Sess., c. 2, § 23 amended the effective date of Laws 1997, c. 133, § 347 from July 1, 1998, to July 1, 1999.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Oklahoma may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.