CHAPTER 17-07 ENERGY POLICY COMMISSION

17-07-01. Energy policy commission.

- 1. The energy policy commission is composed of:
 - a. The commissioner of commerce;
 - b. A representative of the agriculture community appointed by the governor;
 - c. A representative recommended by the lignite energy council appointed by the governor;
 - d. A representative recommended by the North Dakota petroleum council appointed by the governor;
 - e. A member from the biodiesel industry appointed by the governor;
 - f. A member from the biomass industry appointed by the governor;
 - g. A member from the wind industry appointed by the governor;
 - h. A member from the ethanol industry appointed by the governor;
 - i. A representative recommended by the North Dakota petroleum marketers association appointed by the governor;
 - j. A member from the North Dakota investor-owned electric utility industry appointed by the governor;
 - k. A member from the generation and transmission electric cooperative industry appointed by the governor;
 - I. A member from the lignite coal-producing industry appointed by the governor;
 - m. A member from the refining or gas-processing industry appointed by the governor; and
 - n. Additional nonvoting members appointed by the governor.
- 2. Each member of the commission shall serve for a term of two years, beginning July first, may be reappointed for additional terms, and serves at the pleasure of the governor.
- The commissioner of commerce is chairman of the commission.
- 4. The commission shall meet at least four times per biennium or as often as the chairman deems necessary. The commission shall hold at least two public hearings per biennium, at which time interested parties may present testimony regarding issues pertinent to the development of the policy. The department of commerce shall provide staffing for the commission.
- 5. The commission shall develop a comprehensive energy policy for the state. The commission shall monitor progress made toward the goals outlined in the energy policy and make changes to the energy policy as needed. The commission shall report biennially to the legislative council.

6. The members of the commission who are not state employees are entitled to mileage and expenses as provided by law for state officers and employees. Unless otherwise provided in this subsection, the expenses of appointed members are to be paid by the department of commerce. A state employee who is a member of the commission must receive that employee's regular salary and is entitled to mileage and expenses, to be paid by the employing agency.