2018 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 66 - Motor Vehicles
Article 7 - Traffic Laws; Signs, Signals and Markings; Accidents; Weight and Size; Traffic Safety
Section 66-7-206 - Immediate notice of accidents.

Universal Citation: NM Stat § 66-7-206 (2018)
66-7-206. Immediate notice of accidents.

The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury to or death of any person or property damage to an apparent extent of five hundred dollars ($500) or more shall immediately, by the quickest means of communication, give notice of the accident to the police department if the accident occurs within a municipality; otherwise to the office of the county sheriff or the nearest office of the New Mexico state police.

History: 1941 Comp., § 68-2306, enacted by Laws 1953, ch. 139, § 44; 1953 Comp., § 64-17-6; Laws 1967, ch. 12, § 1; recompiled as 1953 Comp., § 64-7-206, by Laws 1978, ch. 35, § 395; 1991, ch. 160, § 15.


The 1991 amendment, effective July 1, 1991, inserted "bodily" preceding "injury"; substituted "five hundred dollars ($500)" for "one hundred dollars ($100)"; and made minor stylistic changes.

Am. Jur. 2d, A.L.R. and C.J.S. references. — Construction and application of "amnesty" provision whereby automobile driver leaving scene of accident may report to police within stated time without risk of use of his report against him, 36 A.L.R.4th 907.

Admissibility of police officer's testimony at state trial relating to motorist's admissions made in or for automobile accident report required by law, 46 A.L.R.4th 291.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.