2017 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 59A - Insurance Code
Article 13 - Adjusters
Section 59A-13-12 - Continuing education.

Universal Citation: NM Stat § 59A-13-12 (2017)

59A-13-12. Continuing education.

A. The superintendent shall require as a condition to continuation of an adjuster license that during the twenty-four months next preceding expiration of the current license period, the licensee has attended the minimum number of hours of formal class instruction, lectures or seminars required and approved by the superintendent.

B. Instruction shall be designed to refresh the licensee's understanding of basic principles and coverages involved, recent and prospective changes, applicable laws and rules of the superintendent, proper conduct of the licensee's business and duties and responsibilities of the licensee.

C. The superintendent may permit licensees to successfully complete an equivalent course of study and instruction online or by mail.

D. The superintendent may impose a penalty not to exceed fifty dollars ($50.00) for a licensee's failure to timely report continuing education credits.

E. The superintendent shall charge, at the time of certifying each licensee's continuing education credits as a condition of continuation of license, a fee of one dollar ($1.00) per credit hour of continuing education; provided that the superintendent may contract with an independent agency to receive and review a continuing education compliance report, and in such a case, the fee shall be a reasonable amount fixed by the superintendent and payable to the contracting agency.

History: Laws 2016, ch. 89, 56; 2017, ch. 76, 6.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.