2017 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 42 - Actions and Proceedings Relating to Property
Article 10 - Exemptions
Section 42-10-9 - Homestead exemption.

Universal Citation: NM Stat § 42-10-9 (2017)

42-10-9. Homestead exemption.

Each person shall have exempt a homestead in a dwelling house and land occupied by the person or in a dwelling house occupied by the person although the dwelling is on land owned by another, provided that the dwelling is owned, leased or being purchased by the person claiming the exemption. Such a person has a homestead of sixty thousand dollars ($60,000) exempt from attachment, execution or foreclosure by a judgment creditor and from any proceeding of receivers or trustees in insolvency proceedings and from executors or administrators in probate. If the homestead is owned jointly by two persons, each joint owner is entitled to an exemption of sixty thousand dollars ($60,000).

History: 1953 Comp., 24-6-1, enacted by Laws 1971, ch. 215, 6; 1973, ch. 277, 1; 1979, ch. 9, 1; 1979, ch. 182, 3; 1987, ch. 193, 1; 1993, ch. 44, 1; 2007, ch. 95, 1.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.