2011 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 66: Motor Vehicles
Article 5: Licensing of Operators and Chauffeurs; Financial Responsibility; Uninsured Motorists' Insurance; Identification Cards, 66-5-1 through 66-5-504
Section 66-5-33.1: Reinstatement of driver's license or registration; ignition interlock; fee.


NM Stat § 66-5-33.1 (1996 through 1st Sess 50th Legis) What's This?

66-5-33.1. Reinstatement of driver's license or registration; ignition interlock; fee.

A. Whenever a driver's license or registration is suspended or revoked and an application has been made for its reinstatement, compliance with all appropriate provisions of the Motor Vehicle Code [66-1-1 NMSA 1978] and the payment of a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) is a prerequisite to the reinstatement of any license or registration.

B. If a driver's license was revoked for driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs, for aggravated driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or pursuant to the Implied Consent Act [66-8-105 NMSA 1978], the following are required to reinstate the driver's license:

(1) an additional fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00);

(2) completion of the license revocation period;

(3) satisfaction of any court-ordered ignition interlock requirements; and

(4) a minimum of six months of driving with an ignition interlock license with no attempts to circumvent or tamper with the ignition interlock device.

C. The department may reinstate the driving privileges of an out-of-state resident without the requirement that the person obtain an ignition interlock license for a minimum of six months, if the following conditions are met:

(1) the license revocation period is completed;

(2) satisfactory proof is presented to the department that the person is no longer a resident of New Mexico; and

(3) the license reinstatement fee is paid.

D. Fees collected pursuant to Subsection B of this section are appropriated to the local governments road fund. The department shall maintain an accounting of the fees collected and shall report that amount upon request to the legislature.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.