2011 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 66: Motor Vehicles
Article 5: Licensing of Operators and Chauffeurs; Financial Responsibility; Uninsured Motorists' Insurance; Identification Cards, 66-5-1 through 66-5-504
Section 66-5-208: Evidence of financial responsibility; amounts and conditions.


NM Stat § 66-5-208 (1996 through 1st Sess 50th Legis) What's This?

66-5-208. Evidence of financial responsibility; amounts and conditions.

"Evidence of financial responsibility," as used in the Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act, means evidence of the ability to respond in damages for liability, on account of accidents occurring subsequent to the effective date of the evidence, arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of a vehicle of a type subject to registration under the laws of New Mexico, in the following amounts:

A. twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident;

B. subject to this limit for one person, fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident;

C. ten thousand dollars ($10,000) because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident; and

D. if evidence is in the form of a surety bond or a cash deposit, the total amount shall be sixty thousand dollars ($60,000).

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.