2011 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 58: Financial Institutions and Regulations
Article 15: Small Loan Business, 58-15-1 through 58-15-39
Section 58-15-33: Payday loan products; permitted charges.


NM Stat § 58-15-33 (1996 through 1st Sess 50th Legis) What's This?

58-15-33. Payday loan products; permitted charges.

The following provisions apply only to payday loan products:

A. a licensee shall not charge or receive from a consumer, directly or indirectly, fees or charges except as provided in this section;

B. upon the execution of a new payday loan, the licensee may impose an administrative fee of not more than fifteen dollars fifty cents ($15.50) per one hundred dollars ($100) of principal, which fee is fully earned and nonrefundable at the time a payday loan agreement is executed and payable in full at the end of the term of the payday loan or upon prepayment of the payday loan unless a payday loan is rescinded pursuant to Subsection C of Section 58-15-32 NMSA 1978;

C. upon the execution of a new payday loan agreement, the licensee may impose an additional administrative fee of not more than fifty cents ($.50) per executed new payday loan agreement as necessary to cover the cost to the licensee of verification pursuant to Section 58-15-37 NMSA 1978, which fee is fully earned and nonrefundable at the time a payday loan agreement is executed and payable in full at the end of the term of the payday loan or upon prepayment of the payday loan unless a payday loan is rescinded pursuant to Subsection C of Section 58-15-32 NMSA 1978;

D. a licensee shall not charge a consumer interest on the outstanding principal owed on a payday loan product; and

E. if there are insufficient funds to pay a check or other type of debit on the date of presentment by the licensee, a licensee may charge a consumer a fee not to exceed fifteen dollars ($15.00). Only one fee may be collected by a licensee on a check or debit authorization. A check or debit authorization request shall not be presented to a financial institution by a licensee for payment more than one time unless the consumer agrees in writing, after a check or other type of debit has been dishonored, to one additional presentment or deposit.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.