2011 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 58: Financial Institutions and Regulations
Article 15: Small Loan Business, 58-15-1 through 58-15-39
Section 58-15-2: Definitions.


NM Stat § 58-15-2 (1996 through 1st Sess 50th Legis) What's This?

58-15-20. Fees and costs.

A. Notwithstanding any provision of the New Mexico Small Loan Act of 1955 [58-15-31 NMSA 1978], lawful fees, if any, actually and necessarily paid out by the licensee to a public officer for the filing, recording or releasing in a public office of an instrument securing the loan may be charged to the borrower.

B. Notwithstanding any provision in a note or other loan contract taken or received pursuant to the provisions of the New Mexico Small Loan Act of 1955, attorney fees shall not be charged or collected except when the note or other contract has been submitted in good faith to an attorney for collection and after diligent and good faith effort to collect on the part of the licensee has failed.

C. Notary fees incident to the taking of a lien to secure a small loan or releasing such a lien shall not be charged or collected by a licensee, an officer, agent or employee of a licensee or anyone within an office, room or place of business in which a small loan office is conducted.

D. Delinquency fees shall not exceed five cents ($.05) for each one dollar ($1.00) of each installment more than ten days in arrears; provided that the total of delinquency charges on any such installment shall not exceed ten dollars ($10.00) and that only one delinquency charge shall be made on any one installment regardless of the period during which the installment remains unpaid.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.