2011 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 58: Financial Institutions and Regulations
Article 15: Small Loan Business, 58-15-1 through 58-15-39
Section 58-15-10.1: Licensee reporting requirements; penalties.


NM Stat § 58-15-10.1 (1996 through 1st Sess 50th Legis) What's This?

58-15-10.1. Licensee reporting requirements; penalties.

A. Licensees shall file with the director each year a report containing at least the following information for the preceding calendar year in an aggregated, nonidentifying consumer manner:

(1) a description of each loan product offered by the licensee, including:

(a) all fees;

(b) the minimum, maximum and average annual interest rate as disclosed pursuant to 12 C.F.R. 226, known as "Regulation Z";

(c) the frequency of periodic payments;

(d) the term of the loan; and

(e) any other standard conditions of the loan product;

(2) the total number of transactions entered into for each loan product in the following amounts:

(a) five hundred dollars ($500) or less;

(b) five hundred one dollars ($501) to one thousand dollars ($1,000);

(c) one thousand one dollars ($1,001) to three thousand dollars ($3,000);

(d) three thousand one dollars ($3,001) to five thousand dollars ($5,000); and

(e) greater than five thousand dollars ($5,000);

(3) the total number of loans and the total dollar amount of loan principal for each loan product;

(4) the average principal loan amount for each loan product;

(5) the total number of loans for which the loan principal and accrued interest was not paid in full;

(6) the total dollar amount of principal loaned;

(7) the total dollar amount of loan principal repaid;

(8) the total dollar amount of interest received;

(9) the total dollar amount and description of fees received;

(10) the total number of loans that were secured by collateral of some type and the total number of such loans in which the security was foreclosed upon or repossessed;

(11) the total amount of loan principal and the total amount of accrued interest written-off or charged-off;

(12) the percent of consumers who were new consumers;

(13) the number of loans that were renewed, refinanced or extended prior to being repaid in full; and

(14) procedures the licensee follows as a standard practice to establish each consumer's ability to repay a loan.

B. The report required pursuant to Subsection A of this section shall be submitted to the director on or before the thirty-first day of March each year.

C. The report required pursuant to Subsection A of this section shall be accompanied by a sworn statement by the licensee under penalty of perjury that the report is complete and accurate.

D. A licensee that fails to timely submit a complete and accurate report as required pursuant to Subsection A of this section shall:

(1) be fined an amount not to exceed one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) per day for each day after the thirty-first day of March a complete and accurate report is not filed; and

(2) have a license required pursuant to the New Mexico Small Loan Act of 1955 suspended pursuant to Section 58-15-8 NMSA 1978 if a complete and accurate report has not been filed by the thirty-first day of March.

E. The information required to be submitted by licensees pursuant to the provisions of this section shall not include information concerning payday loans or loans or loan products with an annual interest rate of one hundred seventy-five percent or less as disclosed pursuant to 12 C.F.R. 226, known as "Regulation Z".

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.