2006 New Mexico Statutes - Section 30-1-7 — Degrees of felonies.

30-1-7. Degrees of felonies.

Felonies under the Criminal Code [ 30-1-1 NMSA 1978] are classified as follows:   

A.     capital felonies;   

B.     first degree felonies;   

C.     second degree felonies;   

D.     third degree felonies; and   

E.     fourth degree felonies.   

A felony is a capital, first, second, third or fourth degree felony when it is so designated under the Criminal Code [ 30-1-1 NMSA 1978]. A crime declared to be a felony, without specification of degree, is a felony of the fourth degree.   

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.