2023 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - Labor and Workmen's Compensation
Section 34:19-13 - Civil action by aggrieved employee.

Universal Citation: NJ Rev Stat § 34:19-13 (2023)

34:19-13 Civil action by aggrieved employee.

5. Any aggrieved employee may enforce the provisions of this act by means of a civil action brought no later than ninety days after the date of the alleged violation in a court of competent jurisdiction. The court shall award a prevailing employee all appropriate relief, including any of the following which are applicable to the violation:

a. A restraining order against any continuing violation;

b. The reinstatement of the employee to the employee's former position or an equivalent position and the reestablishment of any employee benefits and seniority rights;

c. The payment of any lost wages, benefits or other remuneration; and

d. The payment of reasonable attorneys' fees and costs of the action.

In addition, the court may award the prevailing employee punitive damages not greater than treble damages, or an assessment of a civil fine of not more than $1,000 for a first violation of the act and not more than $5,000 for each subsequent violation, which shall be paid to the State Treasurer for deposit in the General Fund.

L.2006, c.53, s.5.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.