2021 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 44 - Poor
Section 44:4-101 - Relatives chargeable

Universal Citation: NJ Rev Stat § 44:4-101 (2021)

44:4-101. Relatives chargeable

a. The father and mother of a person under 18 years of age who applies for and is eligible to receive public assistance, and the children, and husband or wife, severally and respectively, of a person who applies for and is eligible to receive public assistance, shall, if of sufficient ability, at his or their charge and expense, relieve and maintain the poor person or child in such manner as shall be ordered, after due notice and opportunity to be heard, by any county director of welfare, or by any court of competent jurisdiction upon its own initiative or the information of any person.

b. The provisions of this section shall apply to the minor children of a mother whose husband shall fail properly to support and maintain such minor children when by reason thereof they are likely to become a public charge.

c. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any person 55 years of age or over except with regard to his or her spouse, or his or her natural or adopted child under the age of 18 years.

Amended by L.1968, c. 446, s. 2, eff. Feb. 19, 1969; L.1975, c. 1, s. 2, eff. Jan. 14, 1975; L.1979, c. 401, s. 2, eff. Feb. 8, 1980.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.