2021 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 3B - Administration of Estates--Decedents and Others
Section 3B:16-2 - Inventory and appraisal to be made and filed

Universal Citation: NJ Rev Stat § 3B:16-2 (2021)

3B:16-2. Inventory and appraisal to be made and filed

A personal representative may or, if required by the court or if the exemption for the benefit of the family of the decedent is to be set off as allowed by N.J.S. 3B:16-5, shall make and file a true and perfect inventory of the real and personal property of his decedent, which has come to his hands, possession or knowledge or into the hands of any other person for him, and cause a just appraisal thereof to be made by two discreet and impartial persons.

The court shall not require an inventory and appraisal to be filed until 3 months after the grant of letters, except that if an exemption is to be set off, the inventory and appraisal shall be made within the 3 months.

L.1981, c. 405, s. 3B:16-2, eff. May 1, 1982.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.