2019 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 45 - Professions and Occupations
Section 45:15-16.79 - Additional penalties.

45:15-16.79 Additional penalties.

30. a. Any broker, broker-salesperson or salesperson who violates the provisions of this act shall, in addition to the penalties set forth herein, be subject to the penalties as set forth in R.S.45:15-17.

b. Any person who violates any provision of this act or any person who, in an application for registration filed with the commission, makes any untrue statement of a material fact or omits to state a material fact shall be fined not less than $250, nor more than $50,000, per violation.

c. The commission may levy and collect the penalties set forth in subsection b. of this section after affording the person alleged to be in violation of this act an opportunity for a hearing in accordance with the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.) on the alleged violations and a finding by the commission that the person is guilty of the violation. When a penalty levied by the commission has not been satisfied within 30 days of the levy, the penalty may be sued for and recovered by, and in the name of, the commission in a summary proceeding pursuant to the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," P.L.1999, c.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.).

d. The commission may, in the interest of justice, compromise any civil penalty, if in its determination the gravity of the offense does not warrant the assessment of the full fine.

L.2006, c.63, s.30.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.