2019 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 3B - Administration of Estates--Decedents and Others
Section 3B:5-1 - Requirement that heir survive decedent by 120 hours.

Universal Citation: NJ Rev Stat § 3B:5-1 (2019)

3B:5-1 Requirement that heir survive decedent by 120 hours.

3B:5-1. For the purposes of intestate succession an individual who is not established by clear and convincing evidence to have survived the decedent by 120 hours is deemed to have predeceased the decedent. This section is not to be applied where its application would result in a taking of intestate estate by the State.

L.1981, c.405, s.3B:5-1, eff. May 1, 1982; amended 2004, c.132, s.44.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.