2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 40A - MUNICIPALITIES AND COUNTIES
Section 40A:9-58 - Disposition of personal property of unknown decedent

Universal Citation: NJ Rev Stat § 40A:9-58 (2017)

40A:9-58. Disposition of personal property of unknown decedent

The county medical examiner shall take charge of the personal property found on or pertaining to an unknown decedent. The said county medical examiner shall make an inventory of all such personal property and file a copy thereof with the clerk of the board of chosen freeholders. Within 20 days after the death, the said personal property with a copy of the inventory shall be delivered to the county treasurer. After 20 days following such delivery the county treasurer, in his discretion, may sell said property at public or private sale. If the proceeds of any such sale shall not be claimed by a personal representative of the decedent or person entitled thereto within 2 years after the sale, the said proceeds shall become the property of the county.

L.1971, c. 200, s. 1, eff. July 1, 1971.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.