2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 40A - MUNICIPALITIES AND COUNTIES
Section 40A:9-28.3 - Renewal of certificates; fee; continuing education; mitigating circumstances.

40A:9-28.3 Renewal of certificates; fee; continuing education; mitigating circumstances.

3. a. Commencing July 1, 1995, all county finance officer certificates shall be renewed upon application, payment of the required fee of $50 and verification that the applicant has met continuing education requirements, all as set forth in this section. Each renewal shall be for a period of two years. The renewal date shall be 30 days prior to the expiration date.

b. Each applicant for renewal of a county finance officer certificate, on a form prescribed by the director, shall furnish proof of having earned at least 3.0 continuing education units in subject areas and minimum contact hours as prescribed by the director. For the purposes of this section, 1.0 continuing education unit equals 10 contact hours. Upon verification of this requirement and upon payment of a fee of $50 to the order of the Treasurer of the State of New Jersey, the director shall renew the county finance officer certificate.

c. When the holder of a county finance officer certificate has allowed the certificate to lapse by failing to renew the certificate, a new application and certificate shall be required. If application is made within six months of the expiration of the certificate, then application may be made in the same manner as a renewal; provided, however, that such application may be made in the same manner as a renewal within 12 months of the expiration of the certificate if the director determines that either of the following circumstances prevents a certificate holder from earning the required continuing education units within six months of the expiration of the certificate:

(1) a flood, hurricane, superstorm, tornado, or other natural disaster, and a state of emergency has been declared as a result thereof by the Governor; or

(2) a medical event or condition.

L.1993, c.87, s.3; amended 2015, c.95, s.40.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.