2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 40A - MUNICIPALITIES AND COUNTIES
Section 40A:9-154.6h - Renewal of certificates.

40A:9-154.6h Renewal of certificates.

8. a. Commencing January 1, 1997, all public works manager certificates shall be renewed upon application, payment of the required fee, and verification that the applicant has met continuing education requirements, all as set forth in this section. Each renewal shall be for a period of three years. The renewal date shall be 30 days prior to the expiration date.

b. All public works manager certificates subject to renewal pursuant to this section that were issued prior to January 1, 1995 shall have an expiration date of December 31, 1998. All public works manager certificates issued on or after January 1, 1995 shall have an expiration date of either June 30 or December 31, whichever is sooner, of the third year following the year in which the certificates were originally issued, provided that no certificate shall expire sooner than December 31, 1998.

c. Each applicant for renewal of a public works manager certificate shall, on a form prescribed by the director, furnish proof of having earned at least two continuing education units in fields of study related to public works activity. For the purposes of this section, one continuing education unit equals 10 contact hours. Upon verification of this requirement, and upon payment of a fee, the director shall renew the public works manager certificate.

d. If the holder of a public works manager certificate has allowed the certificate to lapse by failing to renew the certificate, a new application and certificate shall be required. If application is made within six months of the expiration of the lapsed certificate, then application may be made in the same manner as a renewal, but the application shall be accompanied by the fee for a new application; provided, however, that such application may be made in the same manner as a renewal within 12 months of the expiration of the certificate if the director determines that either of the following circumstances prevents a certificate holder from earning the required continuing education units within six months of the expiration of the certificate:

(1) a flood, hurricane, superstorm, tornado, or other natural disaster, and a state of emergency has been declared as a result thereof by the Governor; or

(2) a medical event or condition.

L.1991, c.258, s.8; amended 1995, c.46, s.7; 2015, c.95, s.44.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.