2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 40A - MUNICIPALITIES AND COUNTIES
Section 40A:9-154.6f - Revocation, suspension of certificate

40A:9-154.6f. Revocation, suspension of certificate

6. a. Any public works manager certificate may be revoked or suspended by the director for dishonest practices or failure, neglect or refusal to comply with the Constitution of the State of New Jersey or the laws relating to local management of public works, or other just cause. Request may be made to the director by any governing body of any municipality for a review of the behavior or practices of a certified public works manager when the governing body may feel his certificate should be revoked. No certificate shall be revoked or suspended except upon a proper hearing before the director or his designee, after 14 days' notice to the certified public works manager. If the certificate of a person serving as a certified public works manager in any municipality shall be revoked by the director, that person shall not be entitled to any benefits pursuant to this act, nor may he make application for re-certification for a period of five years from the date of the revocation.

b. A complaint against a certified public works manager shall be filed with the municipal clerk and the director and a certified copy thereof shall be served upon the person so charged, with notice of a hearing date before the director or his designee, which shall be not less than 30 days or more than 60 days from the date of service of the complaint. The hearing date may on application be extended by the director for good cause shown.

c. The person so charged and the complainant shall have the right to be represented by counsel, the power to subpoena witnesses and documentary evidence, and such discovery as may be necessary to prepare the appeal.

d. The Superior Court shall have jurisdiction to review the determination of the director and shall hear the cause de novo on the record below and affirm, modify or set aside such determination.

e. Either party may supplement the record with additional testimony subject to the rules of evidence.

L.1991,c.258,s.6.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.