2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 40A - MUNICIPALITIES AND COUNTIES
Section 40A:9-133.10 - Renewal of certificates; conditions; fee.
40A:9-133.10 Renewal of certificates; conditions; fee.
8. a. Commencing October 1, 1998 all registered municipal clerk certificates issued pursuant to section 3 or section 4 of P.L.1985, c.174 (C.40A:9-133.3 or C.40A:9-133.4), or section 7 of P.L.1997, c.279 (C.40A:9-133.9) shall be renewed upon application, payment of the required fee, and verification that the applicant has met the requirements as set forth in this section. Each renewal shall be for a period of two years. The renewal date shall be 30 days prior to the expiration date.
b. All registered municipal clerk certificates subject to renewal pursuant to this section issued prior to October 1, 1998 shall have an expiration date of September 30, 2000. All registered municipal clerk certificates issued on or after October 1, 1998 shall expire two years from the date on which the certificate was originally issued.
c. Each applicant for renewal of a registered municipal clerk certificate shall, on a form prescribed by the director, furnish proof of having earned at least 2.0 continuing education units in subject areas related to the statutory duties of the municipal clerk and minimum contact hours as prescribed by the director. For the purposes of this section, 1.0 continuing education unit equals 10 contact hours. Upon verification of this requirement, and upon payment of a fee of $50 to the order of the Treasurer of the State of New Jersey, the director shall renew the registered municipal clerk certificate.
d. Where the holder of a registered municipal clerk certificate has allowed the certificate to lapse by failing to renew the certificate, a new application and certificate shall be required. If application is made within six months of the expiration of the certificate, then application may be made in the same manner as renewal but the application shall be accompanied by the fee for a new application; provided, however, that such application may be made in the same manner as a renewal within 12 months of the expiration of the certificate if the director determines that either of the following circumstances prevents a certificate holder from earning the required continuing education units within six months of the expiration of the certificate:
(1) a flood, hurricane, superstorm, tornado, or other natural disaster, and a state of emergency has been declared as a result thereof by the Governor; or
(2) a medical event or condition.
L.1997, c.279, s.8; amended 1998, c.27, s.2; 2015, c.95, s.41.