2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 40A - MUNICIPALITIES AND COUNTIES
Section 40A:14-106a - 45-day filing deadline

40A:14-106a. 45-day filing deadline

A county law enforcement officer shall not be removed from the officer's employment or position, nor suspended, fined or reduced in rank for a violation of the internal rules and regulations established for the conduct of a law enforcement unit unless a complaint charging a violation of those rules and regulations is filed no later than the 45th day after the date on which the person filing the complaint obtained sufficient information to file the matter upon which the complaint is based. A failure to comply with this section shall require a dismissal of the complaint. The 45-day time limit shall not apply if an investigation of a law enforcement officer for a violation of the internal rules and regulations of the law enforcement unit is included directly or indirectly within a concurrent investigation of that officer for a violation of the criminal laws of this State. The 45-day limit shall begin on the day after the disposition of the criminal investigation. The 45-day requirement in this section for the filing of a complaint against an officer shall not apply to a filing of a complaint by a private individual.

L. 1988, c. 145, s. 2.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.