2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Section 4:3-11.23 - Violations, penalties; enforcement

4:3-11.23. Violations, penalties; enforcement

14. Any person who violates any provision of this act, or the rules and regulations issued pursuant thereto, shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $50.00 nor more than $100.00 for the first offense and a penalty of not less than $100.00 nor more than $200.00 for a second offense occurring within one year at the same location. Persistent violators who commit a third or subsequent offense at any individual location within one year shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $300.00 nor more than $500.00 for each such offense. Every day upon which a violation occurs at the same individual location shall be considered a separate violation. Penalties set forth in this act shall be sued for by and in the name of the secretary and shall be recoverable with costs. The Superior Court and every municipal court shall have jurisdiction to enforce the provisions of this act. Any proceedings for a violation of this act may be brought in the municipality where the violator resides, has a place of business or principal office or where the act or omission or part thereof complained of occurred. The proceedings shall be summary in nature and in accordance with "the penalty enforcement law" (N.J.S.2A:58-1 et seq.).

L.1965,c.94,s.14; amended 1972, c.39, s.2; 1991,c.91,s.155.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.