2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 4 - AGRICULTURE AND DOMESTIC ANIMALS
Section 4:19-15.16a - Rules, regulations concerning training, educational qualifications for animal control officers.
4:19-15.16a Rules, regulations concerning training, educational qualifications for animal control officers.
3. a. The Commissioner of Health shall, within 120 days after the effective date of P.L.1983, c.525, and pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), adopt rules and regulations concerning the training and educational qualifications for the certification of animal control officers, including, but not limited to, a course of study approved by the commissioner and the Police Training Commission, in consultation with the New Jersey Certified Animal Control Officers Association, which acquaints a person with:
(1) The law as it affects animal control, animal welfare, and animal cruelty;
(2) Animal behavior and the handling of stray or diseased animals; and
(3) Community safety as it relates to animal control.
(4) (Deleted by amendment, P.L.2017, c.331)
Any person 18 years of age or older may satisfy the courses of study established pursuant to this subsection at that person's own time and expense; however, nothing in this section shall be construed as authorizing a person to exercise the powers and duties of an animal control officer absent municipal appointment or authorization pursuant to section 4 of P.L.1983, c.525 (C.4:19-15.16b).
b. (1) The commissioner shall provide for the issuance of a certificate to a person who possesses, or acquires, the training and education required to qualify as a certified animal control officer pursuant to paragraphs (1) through (3) of subsection a. of this section and to a person who has been employed in the State of New Jersey in the capacity of, and with similar responsibilities to those required of, a certified animal control officer pursuant to the provisions of P.L.1983, c.525, for a period of three years before January 17, 1987. The commissioner shall not issue a certificate to any person convicted of, or found civilly liable for, a violation of any provision of chapter 22 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes.
(2) The commissioner shall revoke the certificate of any person convicted of, or found civilly liable for, a violation of any provision of chapter 22 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes, and shall place the name of the person on the list established pursuant to subsection c. of this section.
c. (1) The commissioner shall establish a list of all persons issued a certificate pursuant to subsection b. of this section (a) for whom that certificate has been revoked, or (b) who have been convicted of, or found civilly liable for, a violation of any provision of chapter 22 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes. The commissioner shall provide each municipality in the State with a copy of this list within 30 days after the list is established and not less often than annually thereafter if no revised list required pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection has been issued in the interim.
(2) Upon receipt of a notice required pursuant to section 3 or 4 of P.L.2003, c.67 (C.4:22-57 or C.2B:12-17.1) involving a person who has been issued a certificate pursuant to subsection b. of this section, the commissioner shall add to the list the name of the person convicted of, or found civilly liable for, a violation of any provision of chapter 22 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes according to the notice, and shall issue a copy of the revised list to each municipality within 30 days after receipt of any notice.
L.1983, c.525, s.3; amended 1997, c.247, s.2; 2003, c.67, s.1; 2012, c.17, s.8; 2017, c.331, s.5.