2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 4 - AGRICULTURE AND DOMESTIC ANIMALS
Section 4:19-15.12 - Fee for dog license.

4:19-15.12 Fee for dog license.

12. a. The governing body of each municipality may, by ordinance, fix the sum to be paid annually for a dog license and each renewal thereof, as required by section 3 of this act, which sum shall be not less than $1.50 or more than $21; provided however, that the governing body may by ordinance, provide for a reduction or waiver of the sum to be paid by an owner who presents a certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian stating that the dog has been spayed or neutered. In the absence of any local ordinance, the fee for all dog licenses shall be $1.50.

b. The governing body of each municipality, may, by ordinance, fix the sum to be paid for a 3-year dog license and each renewal thereof, which sum shall be not more than 3 times the sum charged for an annual license under subsection a. of this section. In the absence of such a local ordinance, the license fee for a 3-year dog license shall be $4.50. The Department of Health shall promulgate appropriate regulations concerning veterinarians' certificates for rabies inoculations of dogs for 3-year periods in connection with licenses issued under this subsection.

L.1941, c.151, s.12; amended 1954, c.118; 1966, c.64, s.3; 1978, c.168; 2007, c.7; 2012, c.17, s.6.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.