2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 4 - AGRICULTURE AND DOMESTIC ANIMALS
Section 4:12A-36 - Fees
Every person required by this act to be licensed shall pay a yearly license fee as follows:
Store--each and every store selling milk shall pay a license fee based on average volume of milk sold during the previous two months as follows:
tores selling 500 quart equivalents or less per week .......... $12.00
Stores selling 501 to 1,500 quart equivalents per week .......... $24.00
Stores selling 1,501 to 3,000 quart equivalents per week .......... $36.00
Stores selling 3,001 quart equivalents or more per week .......... $48.00
provided, however, that a store selling milk exclusively for consumption on the premises shall not be required to obtain a license nor pay a license fee; and provided, further, that a store selling only milk which is evaporated or condensed in hermetically sealed cans shall not be required to obtain a license or pay a license fee.
Any person applying for a license to engage in business as a store at a new location shall pay a fee of $12.00 for the first year of operation, but any person acquiring an existing store shall pay a fee based upon the average volume of milk sold during the previous two months in accordance with the store fee schedule above.
Milk dealers--every milk dealer shall pay a fee of $0.01 per hundredweight of milk sold for consumption within the State excluding dealer to dealer sales; but a milk dealer processing milk for sale to other dealers shall pay a minimum fee of $650.00 per year and a milk dealer selling to stores and consumers shall pay a minimum fee of $30.00 per year.
A milk dealer engaged in handling milk in the State of New Jersey, but selling milk only in another state or engaged only in manufacturing shall pay a license fee of $150.00 per year. A milk dealer who during the year prior to the one for which the application is being made sold a quality of milk which would yield a fee of less than $300.00 per year may pay his full fee at the beginning of the license year based upon the prior year's business. Milk dealers shall pay the fee by the fifteenth of each month for the previous month. Failure to pay the fee shall be the basis for the suspension or revocation of license or the assessment of penalty as herein provided for any other violations of this act. There shall be no refund except to correct a clerical error or where a license is applied for and the director declines to grant the license to the applicant.
L.1941, c. 274, p. 729, s. 36. Amended by L.1956, c. 196, p. 724, s. 1; L.1962, c. 181, s. 1, eff. Dec. 5, 1962; L.1983, c. 344, s. 3.