2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 18A - EDUCATION
Section 18A:6-18.1 - Charge against suspended person not determined within 180 days; payment of salary

18A:6-18.1. Charge against suspended person not determined within 180 days; payment of salary

If any tenured professor, associate professor, assistant professor, instructor, supervisor, registrar, teacher or other person employed in a teaching capacity or any other tenured officer or employee in any State college, county college or industrial school or any other officer of employee of the college or school who is subject to dismissal only in the manner prescribed by subarticle B of article 2 of chapter 6 of Title 18A of the New Jersey Statutes, is suspended pending the determination of any charge against him, other than for an indictment under the laws of the United States or the State of New Jersey, and should the determination of the charge not be made within 180 days after it is filed with the board of trustees of said college or school, excluding all delays which are granted at the request of such person, the full salary (except for said 180 days) of such person shall be paid beginning on the 181st day until a determination by the board of trustees is made. If the charge is dismissed, the person shall be reinstated immediately with full pay from the first day of the suspension. If the charge is dismissed and the suspension is continued during an appeal therefrom, then the person's full pay or salary shall continue until the determination of the appeal. However, the board of trustees shall deduct from the full pay or salary any sums received by way of pay or salary from any substituted employment assumed during the period of suspension. If the charge is sustained on the original hearing or an appeal therefrom, and the determination is appealed, then the salary suspension may be continued, reinstituted or instituted unless and until the determination is reversed, in which event the suspended person shall be reinstated immediately with full pay as of the time of suspension. If the charges are sustained, the employer may recover any salary which was paid to the employee during the period of suspension.

L.1983, c. 347, s. 1, eff. Sept. 22, 1983.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.