2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 18A - EDUCATION
Section 18A:37-2.4 - Hearing

18A:37-2.4. Hearing

3. a. Any pupil removed pursuant to section 1 of P.L.1995, c.128 (C.18A:37-2.2) shall be entitled to a hearing before the local board of education to determine if the pupil is guilty of committing an assault upon a teacher, administrator, board member, other employee of a school board or another student, with a weapon, on any school property, on a school bus, or at a school-sponsored function. If it is found that the pupil is not guilty of the offense the pupil shall be immediately returned to the regular education program.

b. The hearing shall take place no longer than 30 days following the day the pupil is removed from the regular education program. The hearing is not subject to the provisions of the "Open Public Meetings Act," P.L.1975, c.231 (C.10:4-6 et seq.).

c. The decision of the board shall be made within five days after the close of the hearing. Any appeal of the board's decision shall be made to the Commissioner of Education within 90 days of the board's decision.

L.1995,c.128,s.3.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.