2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 18A - EDUCATION
Section 18A:18A-33 - Penalties for false statements

18A:18A-33. Penalties for false statements

Any person who makes, or causes to be made, a false, deceptive or fraudulent statement in the questionnaire required to be submitted, or in the course of any hearing under this article shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $100.00 nor more than $1,000.00; or, in the case of an individual or the officer or employee charged with the duty of making such questionnaire for a person, firm, copartnership, association or corporation, to pay such fine or undergo imprisonment, not exceeding 6 months, or both. All such persons and any copartnership, association, corporation or joint stock company of which any such person is a partner or officer or director, and any corporation of which he owns more than 25% of the stock, shall for 5 years from the date of such conviction be disqualified from bidding on all public work in this State.

The board of education shall cause the forfeiture as liquidated damages to the board of any certified check or certificate of deposit deposited as bid security by any person who makes or causes to be made any false, deceptive or fraudulent statement in the questionnaire or bid affidavit required to be submitted, or in the course of any hearing under this chapter.

L.1977, c. 114, s. 1, eff. June 2, 1977.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.