2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 17B - INSURANCE
Section 17B:32-68 - Denial of claims

17B:32-68. Denial of claims

38. a. When a claim is denied in whole or in part by the liquidator, written notice of the determination shall be given to the claimant or his attorney by first class mail at the address shown in the proof of claim. Within 60 days from the mailing of the notice, the claimant may file his objections with the liquidator. If no such filing is made, the claimant may not further object to the determination.

b. Whenever objections are filed with the liquidator and the liquidator does not alter his denial of the claim as a result of the objections, the liquidator shall ask the court for a hearing as soon as practicable and give notice of the hearing by first class mail to the claimant or his attorney and to any other persons directly affected, not less than 10 nor more than 30 days before the date of the hearing. The matter may be heard by the court or by a court-appointed referee who shall submit findings of fact along with his recommendation.

L.1992,c.65,s.38.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.