2017 New Jersey Revised Statutes
TITLE 12A - COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS
Section 12A:3-503 - Notice of dishonor

12A:3-503. Notice of dishonor

a. The obligation of an indorser stated in subsection a. of 12A:3-415 and the obligation of a drawer stated in subsection d. of 12A:3-414 may not be enforced unless the indorser or drawer is given notice of dishonor of the instrument complying with this section or notice of dishonor is excused under subsection b. of 12A:3-504.

b. Notice of dishonor may be given by any person; may be given by any commercially reasonable means, including an oral, written, or electronic communication; and is sufficient if it reasonably identifies the instrument and indicates that the instrument has been dishonored or has not been paid or accepted. Return of an instrument given to a bank for collection is sufficient notice of dishonor.

c. Subject to subsection c. of 12A:3-504, with respect to an instrument taken for collection by a collecting bank, notice of dishonor must be given by the bank before midnight of the next banking day following the banking day on which the bank receives notice of dishonor of the instrument, or by any other person within 30 days following the day on which the person receives notice of dishonor. With respect to any other instrument, notice of dishonor must be given within 30 days following the day on which dishonor occurs.

L.1995,c.28,s.1.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.