2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 59 - Claims Against Public Entities
Section 59:13-6 - Notice Of Late Claim
59:13-6. Notice of late claim
A claimant who fails to file notice of his claim within 90 days as provided in section 6 of this chapter, may, in the discretion of a judge of the Superior Court of the State of New Jersey, be permitted to file such notice at any time within 1 year after the accrual of his claim provided that the State has not been substantially prejudiced thereby. Application to a judge of the superior court for permission to file a late notice of claim shall be made upon motion based upon affidavits setting forth sufficient reason for the failure to file his notice of claim within the period of time prescribed by section 6 of this chapter.
L.1972, c. 45, s. 59:13-6.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.