2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 51 - Standards, Weights, Measures And Containers
Section 51:8-14 - Violations; Penalties

NJ Rev Stat § 51:8-14 (2016) What's This?

51:8-14. Violations; penalties
It shall be unlawful:

a. For any weighmaster to issue a false or incorrect weight certificate or for any person to solicit him so to do.

b. For any weighmaster to permit any weight certificate to be issued or used which purports to bear his signature or seal but which was not in fact signed or sealed by him or which expresses a weight not ascertained by him.

c. For any person to use a false or incorrect weight certificate or to use a certificate not bearing the signature and seal of a weighmaster designated to weigh solid fuel.

d. For any person to deliver solid fuel in any vehicle not having securely and conspicuously attached thereto a license plate as provided in this act.

e. For any person to deliver solid fuel without a weight certificate.

f. For any person to fail, neglect, or refuse to deliver a correct and lawful weight certificate to the purchaser of solid fuel.

g. For any person to permit any diminution of the load of solid fuel after the weight thereof has been certified by a weighmaster designated to weigh solid fuel and before its delivery to the purchaser or purchasers thereof.

h. For any person to deliver or cause to be delivered less than the quantity of solid fuel represented in the weight certificate accompanying such solid fuel as provided in this chapter.

Any person violating any of the provisions of paragraphs "a," "b," "c" of this section shall, upon being found guilty of such offense, pay a fine of not less than $250.00, nor more than $1,000.00.

Any person violating any of the provisions of paragraphs "d," "e," or "f" of this section shall, upon being found guilty of such offense, pay a fine of not less than $50.00, nor more than $100.00.

Any person violating any of the provisions of paragraphs "g" or "h" of this section shall, upon being found guilty of such offense, pay a fine of not less than $50.00, nor more than $100.00, and shall, upon being found guilty of a second similar offense, pay a fine of not less than $100.00, nor more than $250.00, and shall, upon being found guilty of any subsequent similar offense, pay a fine of not less than $250.00, nor more than $500.00.

Any person who violates any provision of this chapter not specified in this section shall, upon being found guilty of such offense, pay a fine of not less than $50.00, nor more than $100.00. Any person unable to pay a fine imposed under the provisions of this chapter shall be committed to jail for a period of not to exceed 6 months.

Amended by L.1969, c. 251, s. 32, eff. Jan. 7, 1970.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.