2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 51 - Standards, Weights, Measures And Containers
Section 51:4-38 - Violations; Penalties; Collection And Enforcement; Process.
51:4-38 Violations; penalties; collection and enforcement; process.
16.Any person who knowingly violates any of the provisions of this act for which specific penalty or punishment is not otherwise provided, shall pay a penalty of not less than $50.00 nor more than $100.00 for the first offense, not less than $100.00 nor more than $250.00 for the second offense, and not less than $250.00 nor more than $500.00 for each subsequent offense.
The Superior Court and municipal court shall have jurisdiction of proceedings for the collection and enforcement of a penalty imposed because of the violation, within the territorial jurisdiction of the court, of any provision of this act. The penalty shall be collected and enforced in a summary proceeding pursuant to the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," P.L.1999, c.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.). Process shall be either in the nature of a summons or warrant and shall issue in the name of the State, upon the complaint of the superintendent or any other weights and measures official.
L.1968, c.222, s.16; amended 1991, c.91, s.481; 2013, c.234, s.7.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.