2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 51 - Standards, Weights, Measures And Containers
Section 51:1-93 - Legal Standard
51:1-93. Legal standard
Every weight or measure sold, leased or delivered after sale to any person within the State for use in the purchase or sale of commodities or services, shall be of the legal standard as provided in this Title.
Every person selling, leasing or delivering, or buying, renting or receiving any such weight or measure shall furnish to the local superintendent of the county or municipality in which such weights or measures are installed, a statement in writing, showing the sale or lease and location of such weights and measures, within 10 days.
Any person who shall sell or lease a false weight or measure or a weight or measure that has not been approved as to type, construction and operation by the State superintendent, or who otherwise violates this section, shall be liable to a civil penalty of not less than $100.00 nor more than $500.00 for each offense.
Amended by L. 1969, c. 251, s. 24, eff. Jan. 7, 1970; L. 1986, c. 167, s. 12, eff. Dec. 3, 1986.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.