2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 51 - Standards, Weights, Measures And Containers
Section 51:1-86 - Tests; Defective Weights, Etc.; Additional Penalty.
51:1-86 Tests; defective weights, etc.; additional penalty.
51:1-86. Upon the first official inspection of any weight or measure, except where the inspection is made upon the request of the owner thereof, if the deviation from the legal standard shall be of such nature as not to be easily ascertained by the owner thereof, the owner may correct it. Upon his failure to do so within 2 days after such inspection, the superintendent shall take possession of and destroy such weight or measure, unless, in the sole discretion of the superintendent, good cause exists to allow additional time to correct the deviation or take possession of and destroy the weight or measure. If the said deviation, or the causes thereof, shall be patent or easily ascertainable by the owner thereof, the superintendent or assistant superintendent shall immediately take possession of and destroy such weight or measure, and the owner thereof shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 in addition to any other penalties and punishments herein provided.
amended 1969, c.251, s.19; 2013, c.126, s.2.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.