2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 51 - Standards, Weights, Measures And Containers
Section 51:1-85 - Tests Made At Request Of Owner; Defective Weights Or Measures; Penalty
51:1-85. Tests made at request of owner; defective weights or measures; penalty
Whenever any inspection of weights and measures has been made upon the request of the owner thereof, if they shall be found not to conform to the legal standard, the superintendent, or assistant superintendent shall serve such owner with a notice in writing that the use thereof is illegal. Within 15 days thereafter, the owner shall either have such weight or measure corrected or another substituted therefor, and notify the said superintendent in writing to that effect, or deliver the defective weight or measure to such superintendent for confiscation; and for his failure so to do, he shall be liable to a fine of $100.00.
Amended by L.1969, c. 251, s. 18, eff. Jan. 7, 1970.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.